Welcome to Talk of the Town

Talk of the Town

View News Update

COMMUNITY: 12:40pm 4-15-08 Nominees Sought for 15th Annual Bossier Athena Award : May 20th
Tuesday, Apr 15, 2008 10:38am

BOSSIER CITY, LA  (By: Tom Pace, Talk of the Town)  BREAKING: COMMUNITY NEWS  12:40pm  4-15-08    The 15th Annual ATHENA Award ceremony is set for Thursday, May 20th, 2008 at Sam's Town Hotel and Casino in Bossier City, Louisiana. The Bossier Chamber of Commerce are now accepting nominations. The deadline for this year is April 25th. 

The ATHENA Award is presented to one who has attained and personifies the highest level of professional excellence in his or her business or profession, has devoted time and energy to the community in a meaningful way, and most especially, has opened doors of leadership opportunity for women. 

This year the Bossier Chamber of Commerce is going to expand on that theme with a half-day conference for women. The event will include sessions on some of the ATHENA Leadership Model tenets such as Authentic Self, Celebration and Joy, Collaboration, Courageous Acts, Fierce Advocacy, Giving Back, and Learning and Relationships.  We are proud to have Sam’s Town Hotel and Casino as our Conference Title Sponsor. 

Nominations forms are available on The Bossier Chamber of Commerce website,
www.bossierchamber.com or at office at 710 Benton Road in Bossier. This award will be given to an exceptional individual who has achieved excellence in her/his business or profession, has served the community in a meaningful way and has assisted women in their attainment of professional goals and leadership skills. 

The ATHENA Award was first presented in 1982 in Lansing, Michigan and has grown to include presentations to more than 5,000 individuals in hundreds of cities in the United States as well as in Canada, China, Russia and the United Kingdom. The award takes the form of a hand-cast bronze sculpture symbolizing the strength, courage and wisdom of the recipient.

Bossier City believes in the values underlying the ATHENA Foundation’s philosophy of incorporating the talent and expertise of women into the leadership of our businesses, our communities and our government.

The spirit of the ATHENA Award® Program is captured in a quotation from Plato, “What is honored in a country will be cultivated there.” By honoring exceptional leaders, others will be encouraged to excel.

Previous ATHENA Recipients Include: 1993- Terri Mathews, 1994- Coy Cooper, 1995- Helen Black, 1996- Connie Brown, 1997- Chief Master Sergeant Cheryl Denson, 1998- Kathy McCallister, 1999- Wanda Bennett, 2000- Rosemary Patterson, 2001- Markey Washington-Pierre, 2003- Sandra Braddock, 2004- Joyce Jeffrey, 2005- Bernadette Bitting, 2006- Stacy A. Brown and 2007- Pam Glorioso. 

Digg | Delicious | Reddit | Facebook | StumbleUpon

Powered by Majicko 1.1.0! (C) 2007 Majicko.com
Web Hosting donated by Bandwise, LLC