Welcome to Talk of the Town

Talk of the Town

View News Update

I-BOWL 10a 6-20-08 Nick Saban, Herb Tyler & Terry Hoeppner Inducted into I-Bowl Hall of Honor
Friday, Jun 20, 2008 8:43am

SHREVEPORT, LA (By: Tom Pace, Talk of the Town)BREAKING I-BOWL 10am 6-20-08  The PetroSun Independence Bowl inducted three new members into the Hall of Honor, Thursday night at the East Ridge Country Club, in Shreveport, Louisiana. 

Former Michigan State and LSU head coach, Nick Saban (now head coach at the University of Alabama); former LSU QB Herb Tyler; and former Miami of Ohio head coach Terry Hoeppner were the latest round of inductees. Hoeppner's widow, Jane accepted the award on his behalf.  Sadly, Coach Hoeppner died of brain cancer, one year ago on June 19th, 2007. (Click the above inductees for interviews at the Hall of Honor.) 

Coach "Hep" spent six seasons as the head coach of Miami University, where he coached current Pittsburgh Steelers quarterback Ben Roethlisberger, and compiled a 48-25 overall record and an 8-5 record along with an appearance in the 2004 Independence Bowl against Iowa State, in what was his final season at the helm.  

His 2003 team went 13-1 and 8-0 to win the Mid-American Conference title and then defeated Louisville in the GMAC Bowl.  An emotional Jane Hoeppner spoke highly of "Hep" and said his "Don't Quit" philosophy would be a lasting legacy. 

Mrs. Hoeppner said the Hall of Honor Award on the first anniversary of his passing, was a great moment in her family's life as a tribute to her former husband. The packed Bowl Foundation audience gave all the inductees standing ovations.

Former Michigan State and LSU head Coach Nick Saban was humbled to be included in this year's Hall of Honor inductees.  Saban coached Michigan State in 1995 when the Spartans fell to LSU, 45-26, in the Independence Bowl.

Saban capped his first season at Alabama with a 30-24 victory over Colorado in the 2007 PetroSun Independence Bowl, as the Tide finished the season 7-6. Saban coached LSU for five seasons after leaving Michigan State. He is 1-1 all-time in the Independence Bowl.

Saban led LSU to the 2003 national championship and that season was named the National Coach of the Year by the Associated Press and earned both the Paul W. ďBearĒ Bryant National Coach of the Year Award and the Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award by the Football Writers Association of America. He was also chosen as SEC Coach of the Year by the Associated Press.

The third I-Bowl Hall of Honor inductee, Herb Tyler, a native of New Orleans, was LSUís starting quarterback from 1995-98. He passed for 5,876 yards and 40 touchdowns during his career and added 778 rushing yards and 23 touchdowns on the ground. Tyler ran for two touchdowns in LSUís historic 28-21 upset of No. 1 Florida in 1997. 

He went 2-0 in his career in the Independence Bowl, winning the 1995 game as a freshman and picking up his second win in 1997. Tyler ranks fourth all-time in LSU history with 6,654 total yards. His 5,876 yards passing ranks fifth all-time in school history.


Digg | Delicious | Reddit | Facebook | StumbleUpon

Powered by Majicko 1.1.0! (C) 2007 Majicko.com
Web Hosting donated by Bandwise, LLC